Through the Grecourt Gates

Last night, I dragged my husband, Bob, to see the movie Julie and Julia in downtown New Canaan.  Yes, he ended up liking it…  I loved it, but that was never a question.  Julia Child was a Smith College graduate, as am I, and I was not going to miss this movie!  The theatre was packed and we were lucky to get a seat.

As a side note, Bob grew up in Norwalk so he seems to know everyone.  I moved here from the city and so I don’t know nearly so many people.  At the end of the movie, we ended up in the best conversation with the couple next to us.  Ends up this would be my night for a connection!  The wife is a Smith grad too.  She also lived in Martha Wilson house, though she graduated a few years before I did.  I have the best memories of Smith and even better memories (if that’s possible) of Martha Wilson house.  We reminisced on and on about candlelight dinners and afternoon tea, while they rolled up the sidewalks of New Canaan around us.  Numbers and e-mails were exchanged and we will definitely be staying in touch with this couple!  What a lovely way to end an evening with new friends and future plans.

Smith College Grecourt Gates

Smith College Grecourt Gates

Since this is a design blog and I can’t get Smith College off of my mind, I have to share with you some of the wonderful photos I found on Flickr of the architecture and gardens on campus.  The first is the Grecourt Gates with the tower of College Hall in the background-love the iron scrollwork.

Smith College Lyman Plant House

Smith College Lyman Plant House

The Lyman Plant House is surrounded by gorgeous gardens seen on my walk to classes each day.  In the fall, there is a mums show and in the spring, a bulbs show–both heavenly…

Smith College Brown Fine Arts Center

Smith College Brown Fine Arts Center

Smith College has one of the premier college art collections and what an amazing building it is housed in.

Smith College Ford Hall

Smith College Ford Hall

The new building for Sciences and for the Engineering Program (first of its kind for women).  I have not seen this building yet, but am looking forward to a closer look at those great glass windows.

Smith Campus Center

Smith Campus Center

Wish I had a photo of the old Campus Center from my time…  This is spectacular in comparison!

Smith College Paradise Pond

Smith College Paradise Pond

What’s not to love about Paradise Pond?   School-wide rowing competitions held in the Head of the Paradise–fun…

Smith College Martha Wilson House

Smith College Martha Wilson House

Last but not least, my home for three of my four years…Martha Wilson House.  Head of the Quad, I received my diploma with so many others on our front steps.  Also, I met Julia Child on these very same steps when I was a student.  Memories don’t get any better than this.  Think I have a visit to Smith in my immediate future.  Can anyone say Mountain Day?

3 Responses to “Through the Grecourt Gates”

  1. Wayne Says:

    My daughter is going to Smith this Fall and is assigned to the Martha Wilson House. It’s kind of far from most of her classes. She is Engineering major and will be in the Ford building. I just hope the Martha Wilson House will also bring her nice experience like you had.

    • averydesigninteriors Says:

      Wayne, Thanks for your comment. Congrats. And very excited for your daughter. I hope she is having a wonderful time. I enjoyed having my “home” (dorm) life separate from my academic life, even though it was a bit of a walk. The only time it was tricky was running back for lunch, but I think the students have the option now of eating at different houses. Would love to hear how it is going!

      • Wayne Says:

        Catherine, (found your name in the About page) I was pleasantly surprised to receive your response. My daughter is definitely having the time of her life in Smith. She got a single room in Wilson, very lucky, even though it’s one of the smaller maid quarters. She has a bike, so distance is not a real issue. The professors and staff are so nice and so willing to help. She not only has a professor adviser/mentor, a upper class mentor, and the freshman class dean knows her well. She doing really well in school. She is coming home for Thanksgiving tomorrow. Can’t wait to see her. Thanks for the feedback. – Wayne


Leave a Reply

