Seeing the light

Aquila Chandelier

Aquila Chandelier

Have you ever had one of those incredible spontaneous experiences–the kind where after you have it, you just know it was meant to be?  A few weeks ago when I was at the NYDC (200 Lex) for What’s New What’s Next, a woman in the elevator said “I am so glad to meet you.”  Who me?  So I said who I was and asked why.  She said that she liked what I said in our Blogging seminar.  I was leaving the event headed to the first floor after 7 hours of schmoozing, looking and learning and I was beat.  But I decided to flow with the moment and I got off the elevator with her at the Third Floor.

In progress was a party at Baker and the introduction of the lighting product line from Pagani Studio.  It was absolutely breath-taking.  Then just in case it wasn’t enough to enjoy the beautiful lighting, showroom and tasty hors d’oeuvres, my new elevator friend, Carolyn Sollis, introduced me to Stephane and Frouwkje Pagani.  We were given the full personalized tour and inspiration behind their various pieces.  The Paganis have an amazing sense of how to mix different materials with the expected to create something entirely new and refreshing.

The Aquila Chandelier, above, is how, in retrospect, I knew that this moment was meant to be.  It’s a chandelier that I saw several years ago and used for a school project–a commercial design retail space.  I have always loved this chandelier and of course, it comes from Pagani Studio.  I was so thrilled that after all of this time, I was not only able to meet these brilliant artists, but to share in the excitement of their evening.  Their lighting speaks for itself…

Mode Floor Lamp

Mode Floor Lamp

Don’t hide this behind the sofa.  It’s out in all it’s sculptural glory next to a comfortable chair in the Family Room.

Noir Sculpture Table Lamp

Noir Sculpture Table Lamp

In a master bedroom, because it’s so soothing as though you are looking up to a shadow of the moon through outer space.

Linea Sconce

Linea Sconce

I can just see these sconces in a Gentleman’s Library–his masculine, understated hideaway where he retreats to smoke his cigar and read the newspaper in the evening.

Perla Chandelier

Perla Chandelier

Last but not least, I saved my favorite for the Powder Room.  This chandelier is a statement piece, balancing a touch of feminine with a touch of whimsy.

(photos from Pagani Studios and Baker websites)

Leave a Reply

