Ornaments

I love ornaments.  I love unwrapping each one and carefully placing it one the tree, while enjoying the memory that each ornament holds.

When I was a child, each Christmas, my Granny Blackard would send me a new handmade ornament.  Now, I have such joy watching my daughter as she decorates the tree with those.  I think it’s just amazing that my mom saved them for me all of these years.  And it’s such a lovely tradition that I have continued it with my own daughter.  By the time she is grown and off on her own, she will have plenty enough to decorate her own first tree.

I remember so well my very first Christmas tree.  Bev Richard and I were living in the North End of Boston.   On my way home from work, I decided to surprise Bev with a tree.  I didn’t anticipate how difficult it would be to get a 6 ft. tree home on foot by myself.  I dragged it home and it was sadly bare on one side (oops), but we still loved it!  Because we lived in the Italian section, the largest room in the house was the Kitchen – if you are Italian or married to an Italian (I am the latter) you will know exactly what I am talking about.  So the Kitchen was the only room that would fit the tree.  We covered it in lights and the few ornaments we had.  Then we tied on bows to fill in the gaps.  I wish I could find a photo – just the thought of that tree still makes me smile.

Under $50

Twelve Days of Christmas from Land of Nod

Love this set of the Twelve Days of Christmas.  There is a limited quantity left, so click quickly!

Under $100

Nutcracker Cloissone Set from Pottery Barn

I have a birthday that is far too cl0se to Christmas.  As a child, I was able to pick what we do on that day.  And every year I chose to go to The Nutcracker.  It is perhaps one of my all time favorite childhood memories.  Now, that our daughter is an aspiring ballerina at 4 1/2, we took her to see The Nutcracker this past weekend.  She loved it, of course, and let us know that she wants to be Clara when she’s 12.  I am sure Miss Jeannie (her instructor) will be thrilled!

Sky’s the Limit

Geisha Goose Egg from Gumps

I didn’t even think I would be able to find an ornament that cost more than $100, but handcrafted and trimmed with 14 karat gold and Austrian crystals…well, I could see how this would hit the ‘sky’s the limit’ category.  And of course, if you have been following my blog you will know that I love anything red or Asian…

Hope one of these beautiful ornaments makes it into your home or your friends.  May it bring the memories of smiles and friendship always.  And may your life be filled with Christmas miracles.

One Response to “Ornaments”

  1. Betsy Says:

    I’m a sucker for cute ornaments. Featuring one on my blog right now also!


Leave a Reply

