Three Reasons to Love Social Media

I have to confess that I am a Social Media convert.  A year ago, I would have harumphed at the thought of connecting on LinkedIn, would not have imagined enjoying writing a blog, and found the name Twitter laughable and unprofessional.  OK, I still think the name Twitter is a bit much, but I love Twitter.

The great fun in blogging and other forms of social media is having the opportunity to meet new people all over the world.  Laura Mahon of the Bee and Thistle has been in touch with me today via Facebook regarding my blog yesterday.  This is the way Social Media is supposed to work.  It’s a conversation.  I can’t even count the number of people/companies that I have blogged about who have not said anything to me at all – no phone call, e-mail, nothing.  If you are on Social Media, the first thing you need to do is set up a Google Alert of your name and your company name. It’s free.  How else are you going to know what people are saying about you?

Second, a great big thank you to the Bee and Thistle for not only commenting on my blog, but linking my post to their Facebook account.  If you are interested in more information about this amazing, romantic, fun Inn, you can become a fan on Facebook at Bee and Thistle Inn and Spa or follow them on Twitter @BeeandThistle.  Also, they have a wonderful blog called The Bee Blog.  So many ways to connect – see?

Finally, the universe is a big but amazing place and we are all interconnected.  What you put out there you get back.  I see it all the time first hand and especially in Social Media.  Try it.  It works for me.

4 Responses to “Three Reasons to Love Social Media”

  1. Patricia Gray Says:

    Social Media is really changing the world, although sometimes it is hard to keep up the explosion in the Blogging world. Thanks for your comments on my Blog and Happy Social Networking in 2010.
    Regards
    Patricia

    • averydesigninteriors Says:

      Thanks for checking out my blog, Patricia. I do so enjoy reading yours. Isn’t it amazing how an ocean is virtually no separation at all? It’s such a great opportunity for all of us to learn more about our industry and the world in general!

  2. Maybelline Says:

    Social Media is great isn’t it? I mean I never thought I’d have this much fun making real connections with friends like you through Twitter, blogs and FB. This year will be an exciting one for us all as we make these connections even more meaningful.
    Thank you for popping by my blog and commenting on the subversive crossstitch. They are fun! sweet and subversive at the same time. Definitely a perfect gift for survivors or those who are battling it.

    • averydesigninteriors Says:

      Maybelline, I can be all about sweet and subversive, but you already know that from Twitter. Great to reconnect here at my blog. Can’t wait to see you and Snug at ICFF in May–wishing you all success!


Leave a Reply

