Visions of Vietnam

Another plug for social media.  Through Twitter, I found out that Maybelline Te, my awesome Twitter friend, is going to be at the International Contemporary Furniture Fair (ICFF).   Ok, so not only does that mean that we can meet in person and break some bread over a lovely dinner (pour some wine), but that I will get to see her fabulous furniture line Snug.

So since I was finally updating my blog and adding a blogroll, I checked out Snug on The Decorating Diva.  Snug’s website is still in progress.  Love this furniture and can’t wait to see it up close and personal at ICFF.  Of course, the best part will be meeting Maybelline, but that’s a given.

Well, this all took me back 10 years to my trip to Southeast Asia.  My mind was off and running, thinking about all of the design inspiration from that part of the world.  Of course, there is no way to cover all of my trip  in one blog, so I thought I would do a series and show photos from one country at a time.

Sorry Maybelline, I have not yet been to Cebu.  Today, images from Vietnam…  Enjoy!

A building in Nha Trang, which is well south of Da Nang along the coast.  I love all of the details – the vibrant robes and the decoration of the facade of the building.

Man and beasts vs. rice paddy.  Thinking my job is a walk in the park comparatively!  Every time I look at this photo I think of this poem by Mary Oliver.

Rice
By Mary Oliver

It grew in the black mud.
It grew under the tiger’s orange paws.
Its stems thicker than candles, and as straight.
Its leaves like the feathers of egrets,
but green.

The grains cresting, wanting to burst.
Oh, blood of the tiger.

I don’t want you to just sit at the table.
I don’t want you just to eat, and be content.
I want you to walk into the fields
Where the water is shining, and the rice has risen.
I want you to stand there,
far from the white tablecloth.
I want you to fill your hands with mud,
like a blessing.

This was a fun lunch listening to some local musicians.  I am fascinated by textiles from the East, Southeast etc. and love the patterns on her dress and his vest.

You can buy all sorts of things from vendors on the beach – crabs, fruit, textiles, you name it…

This has to be one of my all time favorite shots – I wanted to capture the enormity of the ocean and the mountains behind compared to the man meditating with his bike.  We are all so small on this earth – like each grain of sand.  Talk about a mindfulness moment…

Here I am on the same beautiful beach just moments before gathering some of the sand to take back to my dear friend and Vietnam vet.  At first he didn’t know quite what to make of it, but it was my memorial to all of his buddies that he lost north of here in Da Nang.

I took this from our ship off the coast of Vietnam not far from Ho Chi Minh.  I love the bright blue color on the boats.  Unfortunately, a tropical storm, Chip, prevented us from boarding very small transport boats from our very large ship.  One look at the passport control’s boat tossing on the waves underneath as they bravely boarded and I was quite happy to stay right where I was!  Next time…

More to come from Seoul to Singapore…

6 Responses to “Visions of Vietnam”

  1. Maybelline Says:

    Oh wow wow wow Catherine!! Thank you so much for the Snug shoutout and for including me in your blog. Social Media is indeed a powerful bonding vehicle. I really appreciate it more than you know!
    I love your Vietnam photos and have special memories of the a few places there myself. You have an open invitation to Cebu so please let me know when you want to make that trip one day 🙂
    Snug Hugs dear Catherine!

  2. Patti @ iDesign Ink Says:

    Love seeing your photos and learning more about your experiences! Love to hear about travels. One thing though -what is ICFF?

  3. Kevin Sink Says:

    I enjoyed your posts about the “art day” and the trip to Vietnam. I think we need these “jolts to the everyday system” to spark our creativity. I’m envious of the trip to southeast asia! I had the great pleasure to travel to Bhutan about two years ago (search for Bhutan in the Image Gallery on my website). I came back incredibly inspired and centered on the creative process.
    Mary Oliver is incredible by the way. Thanks for sharing that poem. I think history is going to treat her in iconic fashion.
    Best of luck to you!

    • averydesigninteriors Says:

      Kevin, Thanks for your kind words on my blog. I checked out your gorgeous photography.

      Would love to get to Bhutan, but won’t be traveling far for a while. This year’s big trip is to Disney, which probably gives you a window into my current world – that of mom to a 5 year old princess!

      Yes, I love Mary Oliver too and think that her poetry stands the test of time.

      I do my traveling now by reading – poetry etc. My latest is Colin Thubron’s ‘The Lost Heart of Asia’ – fascinating and beautifully written.


Leave a Reply

