Ahhh…Artist’s Day

About a year ago, I was a part of a Mastermind Group led by Jane Pollak.

In one of the sessions, we discussed artist’s days…bliss…  An artist’s day is a day where you immerse yourself in art, preferably the kind that is not your own, to make room for new thoughts, ideas, inspiration.

As a working mom, it is so rare for me to make the time for an artist’s day.  But after a very tough week, swamped with work, mourning the death of my friend, overwhelmed with the devastation and destruction in Haiti.  And last but not least, stood up for morning tea by another dear friend who had a really, really good reason…but…  All in all, I was feeling pretty down and I am not generally a down person.  I knew that I desperately needed some ME time.

And did I ever take it!  My daughter was all lined up with a play date after school.   She was ecstatic and wouldn’t have a moment to miss Mom.  That freed me up to run away for most of the day to New Haven, which is just a short jaunt up I-95.  I don’t remember the last time I felt so free!  It was wonderful.

My first stop was the Yale University Art Gallery.  At the recommendation of the person at the front desk, I began on the Third Floor for American and European art.  While there were some amazing pieces, it just wasn’t getting me to that peaceful place I longed to be.

Then I went down to the Asian art section on the second floor.  I love the Asian arts – the sensual lines of the pottery, the soft dreamy colors, the incorporation of poetry with painting.  It’s all just heaven on earth for me.  I felt as though I was transported a million miles away in both space and time.  Below are photos of two of my favorite pieces.

Next stop was the Yale School of Architecture, where there is a fascinating exhibit about the architecture of Robert Venturi and Denise Scott Brown.  I think this is a blog post in itself!

Then I met my dear friend and fabulous jewelry design, Diane Schroeder of Seed Design for lunch at Clair’s Corner Copia.  We had a delicious lunch and a great conversation that soared from family to business and back again, in that wonderful way that friends can pick up the threads of our lives as though we had never left off.  We dropped by Wave where you can choose and own one of her gorgeous designs.

After we parted ways, I headed to one of my all time favorite stores Ten Thousand Villages, where I purchased a set of blue prayer flags for one of my clients and some jewelry for me.

From Ten Thousand Villages

I loved this necklace with the mesh wire balls and earrings to match!

I rushed back to Fairfield to pick up my daughter and discovered that I had just enough time to squeeze in that long overdue haircut – the perfect ending to a perfect afternoon.

2 Responses to “Ahhh…Artist’s Day”

  1. Maybelline Says:

    what a perfect quick getaway! sometimes, we need to force ourselves to have that pick me up more often. not only when its deadly necessary. love the necklace 🙂


Leave a Reply

