Around the Blog in 90 Days

I learned the most interesting and incredibly useful thing the other night.  I was listening to Melissa Galt’s webinar about social media success and blogging, when she suggested that bloggers create a 90 day editorial calendar.  And I said out loud (ok to myself) “Why didn’t I think of that?”  I can just imagine how much easier it is to put together content if I have a three-month plan!

So for several days now the wheels have been turning and yes, I am a bit old-school, so I’ve been scribbling notes on a note pad by my desk.  I even bought a moleskine (my kind of technology) for my purse!  Melissa, you have gotten me fired up!  This is what I have come up with so far as monthly ideas for blog posts:

1. An in-depth post about one aspect of design.  For example, the first one will be about wainscoting.  Melissa suggested I write a glossary of design terms, so this is my individual take on that.

2. A book review.  I devour design books and find so much inspiration from them!  The first in the repertoire will be the one I am reading now – Clodagh’s ‘Your Home Your Sanctuary’ – divine.  I also read many books about entrepreneurship, sales, and even travelogues – any could grace the new Avery Design Interiors book review.

3. A hotel, museum, restaurant review from a design standpoint.  I especially love seeing the new designs coming out of Southeast Asia and Europe.

4. Speaking of Southeast Asia, I owe you another round of photos from another country from my trip a decade ago. China will be our next stop.

5. I would like to start a question and answer post, but I need your help.  Please post your interior design and decor questions in my comments box and I would love to answer them.

In keeping with the exciting changes in content here at Your Dreams Come Home…, I am in the midst of an overhaul to the look of my blog.  You may have noticed I added a blogroll and that’s just the first step.  Stay tuned.

As always, I love hearing from you.  Please let me know if you have any great design ideas or questions that you want me to blog about (see #5).  If I don’t know the answer, I will find it for you!

Wishing you a wonderful week.  And don’t forget that Valentine’s is a week from today…

2 Responses to “Around the Blog in 90 Days”

  1. Patti @ iDesign Ink Says:

    I can hear the excitement in your writing! Hooray! Love knowing my interior designer is passionate….

    Now for your question: What could I do with an odd shaped living room (one corner has a fireplace in it)it has the main entrance to the house and it is in dire need of a rug. What do you do for the floors in a very limited space?


Leave a Reply

