Wednesday Word on Interior Design from a Graphic Designer

There are days when you are a solopreneur that are so hard – an onslaught of no’s or missed opportunities,  space planning frustration and then to add insult to injury cutting the bottom of your foot while organizing the supplies closet.  Did I mention bleeding all over the recently professionally cleaned carpet?  Yes, interior designers have to have their carpets cleaned too.

Of course, my planned reward for all of today’s hard work was a long overdue visit to the spa for a pedicure.  But no one in their right mind would get a pedicure with a foot injury!  That’s just asking for a foot fungus.

And then just when I wanted to throw in the towel and get a real job…  I came across a blog post from my client that’s all about me!  And in a good way!  And so I had to share the highlight of my day in a most unusual twist on Wednesday Word:

I’m going to have to warn you folks: traciedesigns is about to take a very sharp turn towards interior design for a while. See, renovations are humming along nicely (this week, they mentioned the P word: PAINT. As in, we’re going to PAINT THESE PRETTY WALLS WE PUT UP. Do I sound excited about this? Just a tad).

Anywho. I am so very fortunate to be working with my awesomer-by-the-minute-friend Catherine Avery (of Avery Design Interiors) and she. is. the. bomb. This weekend, she actually assigned us homework–remember that show Trading Spaces? It was very Trading Spaces of her. Our assignment was to pick up samples of the colors for each room upstairs, and paint a big piece of posterboard, and hang it in the room to be painted that color.

Problem was, we didn’t have any clue what color to paint our bedroom–because we had no bedding. I searched the internet. I searched Fairfield County high and low. And where did I finally end up finding our bedding? Homegoods. (note from Tracie’s interior designer aka me:  Calvin Klein bedding in a pale grey with just a hint of the new ‘in’ mauve – to. die. for.)

Oh, and Catherine’s whole paint on the posterboard on the wall? Brills. We nixed a potential color for one of the girl’s rooms, and lightened ours by a shade.

And our Homegoods comforter? The more I have it, the more I love it. I CAN’T WAIT to post pics of the real deal room all finished and put together.

I can’t wait to post photos either – my tweeps are already asking to see them.  For the record tweeps, I have seen the painted walls in the still empty upstairs rooms and the colors are great, but the rooms are still empty…

Bottom line – this made my day.  I love working with this client.  Tracie is so much fun, open-minded and patient.  Good thing as we are spending a lot of time together in her upside down total renovation home.

Tracie, I know that it’s going to be amazing when it’s done!

I love to hear from you.  What’s been your lift on a difficult day?

One Response to “Wednesday Word on Interior Design from a Graphic Designer”

  1. MiriamS Says:

    Dear Catherine, how lovely! (it’s me, @qualitylmiriam) Isn’t it great when clients trust you to explore options? I love it. Will you show pictures of what you have done once it’s finished?
    Sometimes when I’m not sure which way the workload is going a client comes in who changes things, and my tweetfriend @joidesign has the wonderful ability to send me a link or an email just when I need it.
    Have a great day today Catherine, love to see more of what you do. xxx


Leave a Reply

