5 Responses to “An Interior Designer Forays Briefly Into the World of Graphic Design (and comes running back)”

  1. Lisa Raymond Says:

    WOW! This is very, very pretty: very thought-provoking, peaceful, and mysterious all in one. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    • averydesigninteriors Says:

      Lisa,
      Thank you for visiting my blog and for your comments.
      I am so glad you enjoyed the Asian garden as seen through my eyes. I must post some of the photos I took when I was traveling in Asia 10 years ago. All that time has gone by and those memories are still with me.

  2. Mark Glidden Says:

    What a beautiful blog. The moon gate is really something. I could see myself sitting at the gate contemplating the beauty of the space in life. Thanks for a great minute of tranquility. Mark

    • averydesigninteriors Says:

      Mark,
      Thanks so much for visiting my blog. I so enjoyed creating the moon gate logo in conjunction with my graphic designer.
      The Asian garden style speaks to me. The gardens were set so that you had great views of the moon on starlit nights – right up your alley.
      No doubt when this run of dry hot weather is through, my husband and I will create one of our own here in our side yard – I have already chosen the place for it.
      I will be sure to include a bench. And then we can have some tea and talk about our favorite books in the garden.

  3. Amy Says:

    I really enjoyed reading the explanation of how you arrived at your logo and the meaning behind it. I applaud you that you put so much thought and personality into choosing your ‘mark’ and color. Being the owner of a graphic design studio (www.elementsdesign.com), I once created an identity for Moon Gate Catering, so I am very familiar with its history and reference. However, when I look at your identity, I don’t see all the passion and thought you shared in your explanation expressed in your logo. Was this the act of your designer? The fonts, the use of the moon gate symbol, even the space it resides in does not feel as polished as your rationale. I can only think this is the fault of your designer and would urge you to seek out someone who can visually convey exactly the feeling you wish to express when others look upon your identity. We should get all that meaning in an instant. That’s what great design is. Just my humble thoughts!


Leave a Reply

